Aberforth Smaller Companies Trust plc

Board of Directors

Meet the Board who are responsible for effective stewardship of the Company’s affairs

Table of Contents

Board of Directors biographies and tenure

Richard Davidson, Chairman - Appointed: 26 January 2019

Richard is Chair of MIGO Opportunities Trust plc and Foresight Sustainable Forestry Company Plc. He is also Chair of the University of Edinburgh’s Investment Committee. Formerly, he was a Partner and Manager of the Macro Fund at Lansdowne Partners. Prior to that, he was a Managing Director and No.1 ranked investment strategist at Morgan Stanley, where he worked for 15 years. Since 2003, he has also been heavily involved in forestry investment and management.

Jaz Bains - Appointed: 10 October 2022 and is a member of the Audit Committee

Jaz has worked in the energy sector for over 30 years. In 2013 he helped set up and launch The Renewables Infrastructure Group (“TRIG”), now a FTSE 250 listed investment company, and until 31 January 2024 he was responsible for leading the Operations Manager function of TRIG. He is also a non-executive director and senior independent director of Jupiter Green Investment Trust PLC.

Patricia Dimond - Appointed: 3 March 2022, is Senior Independent Director and chairs the Audit Committee

Patricia is a non-executive director and chair of audit of Hilton Food Group plc and a non-executive director of Foresight VCT Plc. She is a trustee and chair of audit of the English National Opera and the National Academy for Social Prescribing. She has had an international career with over 30 years in the consumer, retail and financial sectors. As an industry executive or strategic advisor she has worked with FTSE 100, Private Equity and Founder/Owner managed companies with a focus on finance, strategy and corporate governance. She is a McKinsey & Company alumna, CFA charter holder, has an MBA from IMD Switzerland and qualified as a chartered accountant with Deloitte, Haskins & Sells.

Victoria Stewart - Appointed: 1 September 2020 and is a member of the Audit Committee

Victoria spent twenty two years as a fund manager, mostly with Royal London Asset Management. She was the sole manager of the Royal London UK Smaller Companies Fund from its inception in 2007, leaving in 2016 and taking up a non-executive director role with Secure Trust Bank PLC where she is chair of the remuneration committee. She has considerable experience of managing and investing in various investment vehicles and mid and small-cap listed companies and has a strong working knowledge of performance analysis and corporate governance. She is also a non-executive director of Artemis Alpha Fund plc and JPMorgan Claverhouse Investment Trust plc.

Martin Warner - Appointed: 1 March 2018 and is a member of the Audit Committee

Martin co-founded Michelmersh Brick Holdings plc in 1997 and served as Chief Executive and subsequently non-executive Chairman from May 2017. He is a Fellow of the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors and is Chairman of the Brick Development Association.